Welcome Back (Part One)

               It had been about 16 years since I was last on the radio. A lifetime ago, people leaving high school were not born when I did my final program.

               I have always missed it, something about sitting in an empty room and talking into a microphone with no knowledge of who (if anyone) was listening is so liberating. Messing around, telling jokes, finding material and trying to come up with something coherent to say about it… It was my happy place.

               Since then, the radio industry has completely changed. When I left, every town had a radio station that was unique to them, now they have all gone and no matter where you go it is the same dozen stations, generally presented from London by celebrities from ITV gameshows. The other thing that has changed is the technology, mini disks are long gone and everything is computerised. Many small stations don’t even have studios anymore, people just host their shows from bedrooms and dining tables. Long story short, my ship sailed long ago.

               That was until I did an internet search of local radio stations around the area of the semi-finished hotel. I found one that was a short bus ride away and they had openings available for volunteers. Should I? Could I? After a lot of procrastination (something I am very good at) I decided to send an email, the next day a reply came.

               Due to my fear of admin and yet more procrastination, a month went by. I didn’t answer the email. Then he rang me. I didn’t take the call, I got worried. What if it was too hard? What if it’s changed so much, I can’t do it anymore? I would be devastated. Maybe its better to leave it in the past? Then he rang again. Deep breath “hello”.

               I was invited to an audition, unfortunately I went to the wrong place. The studio had moved, and I had forgotten that detail. I asked in a nearby bakery and the lady told me that they had moved into the town centre. Of course, being me, I didn’t have my phone or any idea where in the town centre I was going. I walked in the long grass at the edge of the dual carriageway all the way from the retail park into the nearby town.

               Somehow, I imagined there would be a big sign advertising the radio station and I would see it by just wondering around this town I didn’t know. I went up and down every street I could find but no luck. I needed help. So, I went to the town hall and queued up with all the people who had forms to fill in. Of course, they had no idea where it was, and by now, I was 45 minutes late (and having no phone with me, I couldn’t let them know). I had blown it.

To be continued…

One thought on “Welcome Back (Part One)

Leave a comment