Cardiff Calling

               I had to leave Cardiff suddenly in 2005 when I was fired from my dream job. They were right to dismiss me, my performance had been terrible. I’d have fired me too. The weekend after it all went wrong, I applied for everything and the first people that said yes were a holiday company offering a summer season in Tenerife. I packed up and left immediately. But what happened to Cardiff since I’ve been gone?

               The apartment I had booked overlooked the river. It was a new development that I couldn’t work out. I had to ask a security guard in a supermarket where it was, then I felt duty bound to go and buy something. Perhaps it was the sunflower lanyard & ear defenders or maybe he was just not used to people asking him questions, but he followed me round the shop. Under pressure, I got a load of things I didn’t want to buy including three varieties of sausage roll.

               Cardiff Bay has expanded yet the difference between what I remember and what I saw is how quiet is has become. Even though it was a weekend in early June, it felt like there were more places to eat than people who wanted to eat in them. I chose a takeaway from a noodle restaurant, I had about 10% of it, then a seagull swooped and scattered the rest across the pavement. Within about three seconds, I found myself in something similar to a remake of Hitchcock’s ‘The Birds’ and promptly moved along.

               I had a lovely tour around the Wales Millenium Centre where we got to watch the technical staff setting up for a performance of an opera I was unfamiliar with. All the extremely heavy sets are still raised onto the stage by ropes operated by stagehands. I asked why it wasn’t operated by computer and that question went down about as well as if I had asked why it was not operated by alcohol fuelled puppies.

               Following that, I took the water taxi into the city centre to see how it had changed. It turned out that I had no memory at all of how it used to be so nothing to compare it to. I just wandered round a generic shopping district that could have been anywhere. The only thing of note is that on three separate occasions, I was stopped by somebody from the Hare Krishna movement, all of whom asked me what music I was listening to. None of them seemed to understand that I was just wearing ear defenders and not listening to anything. In the end I gave up trying to explain and just said Celine Dion.

               The following day I took a walk along the barrage, something that hadn’t been built when I was last there. It was a lovely, if windy day, and an inflatable obstacle course had been set up in the water, populated entirely by excitable children struggling not to be blown into the water. I decided to leave them to it.

               The final stop on my trip was a bus ride to Barry Island. This is one of those places where I have heard a lot about but never actually visited. Imagine a much smaller version of the Blackpool Pleasure Beach where everything is on a tight budget and you wouldn’t be far wrong. I wanted to go on the big wheel so I could get a view of the harbour but it was operated by tokens and the machine only sold awkward amounts so I had to get £10 worth of the stupid things. The big wheel was nice, giving me a good view across the bay.

               But I still had eight tokens left. I tried to use them to buy a burger but no, food didn’t count, a terrifying woman boomed at me. So, I went on a rollercoaster ride, a really small rollercoaster. I was the only person on it and I was only there to use up the tokens. Honestly, it was rubbish and I have never felt so tragic as a middle aged man going on an empty rollercoaster alone. Out of sheer embarrassment, I gave my remaining tokens to a passing woman and her pre-school child (people the rollercoaster may have been more suitable for).

               Before I left Cardiff, I had a quick look at the place I got fired from 19 years ago. It was exactly the same, the desks hadn’t moved, I am sure the chairs were the same too. The only thing that had changed was me and I am fine with that.

               It had been a good week… That was until the ‘Unfortunate Train Incident’…

               To be continued…

2 thoughts on “Cardiff Calling

  1. Sometimes it can be a good thing to return to places we have left behind. If only to remind ourselves how much we learned, progressed or changed. Other times it can be an exercise in futility. I dread to think how bad the next instalment could be, given the state of the train system lately.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment